Four Seasons Maldives Surfing Champions Trophy, August 2021

A Unique Event Concept

The Four Seasons Maldives Surfing Champions Trophy will re-define the world's greatest surfer of the 70s, 80s and 90s. Six former world champions have been invited to compete for the Trophy and US$25,000 in prize-money.

It's the ultimate format for a surfing competition... all the Four Seasons luxury appointments to accommodate athletes, media, partners, officials and spectators. Plus the world's premier surfing cruise boat to access the waves with - the Four Seasons Explorer 39metre luxury catamaran. Add to that the ability to check the waves from the air with a private seaplane and it's hard to imagine a better arena in surfing.

The competition format features three disciplines of which all six surfers will compete in:

  1. 1. Single Fin Surfboards: Popular in the 1970's and the first board for many surfers (US$4,000 prize money)
  2. 2. Twin Fin Surfboards: Prominent in the 1970's and early 1980's (US$4,000 prize money)
  3. 3. Thruster Surfboards: Invented in 1980 and still the competition board of choice today (US$4,000 prize money)


The above disciplines follow the evolution of surfboard design and many competitors' pathway to a world title. Two surfers with the most accumulated points at the end of the three disciplines will qualify for the Champions Trophy final and US$10,000 (US$3,000 runner-up)

This event is guaranteed to showcase some classic rematches and man-on-man showdowns previously thought lost to yesteryears.

Above: Mark Richards. Five time world champion and pioneer of the Twin Fin Surfboard. On location in the Maldives with Tropicsurf

Accomodation Packages
Checkout the Daily Videos
Supported by